The Skilled Migrant Category(SMC) is a points system based on various factors such as age, work experience, qualifications, and an offer of skilled employment. You must also be aged 55 or under, and meet English language, health, and character requirements.
The Skilled Migrant Category (SMC) is the manner in which talented travelers fit the bill to acquire Permanent Residence (PR) to New Zealand. It is overseen by Immigration New Zealand under the Immigration Act [2009]. Right now, it has an objective of attracting 26,000 migrants each year.
The SMC supplanted in the last part of the 1990s an imperfect framework that had come about a huge number resulted in thousands of supposedly skilled migrants coming into New Zealand, who were subsequently unable to work in their skilled professions due to various factors, such as their overseas qualifications not being recognized. For instance, their abroad capabilities not being perceived, therefore couldn’t get word related enrollment in New Zealand, or couldn’t communicate in English.

How does it work?

This listed process is important, under migrant category.

  1. Self-assessment
  2. Submit an Expression of Interest (EOI)
  3. Receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA)
  4. Submit a resident application
  5. Receive your visa

If successful, you’ll be issued a resident visa.


Skilled Migrant Category applicants usually make these mistakes that result in fewer points being recognized:

  • Qualifications not recognized:

If you’re claiming points for your qualifications it’s important to be on the List of Qualifications Exempt from Assessment / have been assessed by NZQA.

  • Work experience not comparable:

If you’re claiming points for work experience it should be in the same field as your qualification and job/job offer. If you don’t have a job or job offer then this experience also needs to be in a comparable labor market, in an occupation on the Long Term Skill Shortage List or for a multinational company.

  • Bonus point requirements not met:

To claim work experience bonus points you need to meet the strict requirements outlined in the Long Term Skill Shortage List as its mandatory.

More information: Get in touch with us, APEX VISAS is always ready to serve you.