Eligibility to apply for the Federal Skilled Trades Program

The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) is for people who want to become permanent residents of Canada based on being qualified in a skilled trade.

(Six Selection Factors – Federal Skilled Workers)

Applicants must score 67 points or higher (out of 100) to qualify to immigrate to Canada as a federal skilled worker.

  1. Education
  2. Language Proficiency
  3. Age
  4. Work-Experience
  5. Arranged Employment
  6. Adapability

Work Outside Quebec :

Quebec has its own skilled immigration program called the Quebec Skilled Trades Program. However, the prospective immigrants who are qualified in a skilled trade and wish to work and settle in Quebec are not able to got through the Federal Skilled Trades Program. Also, they must instead apply to the relevant authorities in Quebec. The FSTP is only for prospective immigrants who wish to live and work in British Columbia (BC), Alberta (AB), Saskatchewan (SK), Manitoba (MB), Ontario (ON), New Brunswick (NB), Nova Scotia (NS), Prince Edward Island (PEI), Newfoundland (NL), or any of the Canadian territories.

FSTP Cap:(2018)

The maximum cap for the Canada Federal Skilled Trade Program is 3000 successful applicants. But for many of the occupations a maximum sub-cap of 100 is applied. To qualify for the Skilled Trades Program an applicant must first be found eligible through various factors such as job offers, qualifications, language proficiency, and work experience. The employment opportunities are mainly found in the following sectors of the economy.

Eligible occupation categories:

  • law partner, your dependent children, and their dependent children (your grandchildren).
  • Spouse means either of the two people (opposite or same sex) who entered into a legal marriage either inside or outside of Canada.
  • Common-law Partner means either of the two people (opposite or same sex) living in the same house in a conjugal relationship for
    1. Industrial
    2. Electrical and Construction
    3. Maintenance and Equipment operations
    4. Agriculture and Production
    5. Processing
    6. Transport
    7. Manufacturing
    8. Cooks and Chefs
    9. Bakers and Butchers

Federal Skilled Trades Program Eligible Jobs List :

The following occupations, all of which are classified as National Occupational Classification (NOC) Skill Level B, are eligible for the Canada Skilled Trades Program. NOC Skill Type B jobs are skilled trades and technical jobs that typically require a college diploma or apprenticeship training. In general, prospective immigrants who are skilled in trades that are in high demand in Canada, such as welders, electricians, machinists, cooks, carpenters, mechanics and plumbers, are qualified for immigration to Canada through this program. We have listed all the eligible occupations for the Federal Skilled Trades Program Canada below, including the official NOC job code pertaining to each.

Do you have sufficient funds to apply for Permanent Residence in Canada under the Federal Skilled Worker Program?

You have to show that you have enough money in your possession to support all of your family members. Even, if they will not come with you to Canada. This money cannot be borrowed from another person. The amount of money you need is based on the number of family members you have.