The Skilled Migrant Category is a points system based on various factors such as age, your work experience, your qualifications, and an offer of skilled employment. You must also be aged 55 or under, and meet English language, health, and character requirements.

How does it work?

This listed process is important, under migrant category.

  1. Self-assessment
  2. Submit an Expression of Interest (EOI)
  3. Receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA)
  4. Submit a resident application
  5. Receive your visa

If successful, you’ll be issued a resident visa.


Skilled Migrant Category applicants usually make these mistakes that result in fewer points being recognized:

  • Qualifications not recognized:

If you’re claiming points for your qualifications it’s important to be on the List of Qualifications Exempt from Assessment / have been assessed by NZQA.

  • Work experience not comparable:

If you’re claiming points for work experience it should be in the same field as your qualification and job/job offer. If you don’t have a job or job offer then this experience also needs to be in a comparable labor market, in an occupation on the Long Term Skill Shortage List or for a multinational company.

  • Bonus point requirements not met:

To claim work experience bonus points you need to meet the strict requirements outlined in the Long Term Skill Shortage List as its mandatory.

More information: Get in touch with us, APEX VISAS is always ready to serve you.